How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

User-to-User support and questions to the Developers and DM team.
Delisha Zrazorian
Newbie Helper
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:08 am

How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Delisha Zrazorian »

Greetings ye who have the answers,

How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?
We are having some trouble testing my new run because the monsters are following us through standard transitions... :?

I noticed yours don't :lol:

if this is some secret sauce, can you at least point me to an equivalent solution in the Vault so we can continue testing :wink:


thanks,
DZ :twisted:
My attitude toward men who mess around is simple: If you find 'em, kill 'em!

Lokey
-2 Penalty in Daylight
Posts: 3094
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Lokey »

Deal with in the AI (which is a horrid mess out of box) or look at nw_g0_transition and its lengthy description. Then be thankful they exposed that to script :)
Tep wrote:I login and there's a dwarf to kill. You can't ask for much more than that.

Alkapwn wrote:NC has the most amazing melee build there is. Its a friggin unstopable juggernaut of pain.

mining
Absentee Ballot Dev
Posts: 2411
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:09 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by mining »

Put something like this in your transition script:

Code: Select all

    if(!GetIsPC(oPC))
    {
        
        if(!GetIsPC(GetMaster(oPC)))
        {
            
            AssignCommand(oPC, ClearAllActions());
        }
    }
Bargeld wrote:Overall, I think most would agree that a pure rogue is probably the worst build on the server.

Shadowalker
Relic Raider
Posts: 820
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:55 pm

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Shadowalker »

Among other issues, the NS4 system prevents a form of griefing. Where a high level toon lures a high level npc into a lowbie populated zone.

Nothing like crossing the pelanor fields to find Sarumon and half a dozen top tier white hand orcs camped along the road.
Twig (TSS) - Twig [CLAD] - Twigs -Fury- - SyNfully Rotted Twig - Twig'lee -Down Under- - Twig'zilla

Fergus Glonshire [FoN] - Sakij Lovac [FoN] - Zatharus Rivermoon (TSS) - Bumble (TSS) - Body built for SyN

Bargeld
PKer
Posts: 1249
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:29 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Bargeld »

NPCs that teleport can still trans if they time it right. Other mobs using a few unique/rare actions can do it too. I think it's all in the timing (at least in the NS4 cases i've seen).
Death Dealers ::DD::
Laufer - Gemetzel - Force - Little Fist - Egil - Torture - Hatshepsu - Nemesis - Hierophant - Supernaut - Flesh Hound - Insurrection - Antithesis - Dead of Winter - Volcanus 2000

mining
Absentee Ballot Dev
Posts: 2411
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:09 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by mining »

Bargeld wrote:NPCs that teleport can still trans if they time it right. Other mobs using a few unique/rare actions can do it too. I think it's all in the timing (at least in the NS4 cases i've seen).
Correct.
Bargeld wrote:Overall, I think most would agree that a pure rogue is probably the worst build on the server.

Delisha Zrazorian
Newbie Helper
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:08 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Delisha Zrazorian »

Greetings all!

Thanks for the responses... the code below seems to be working so far, but haven't tested much yet

Code: Select all

void main()
{
    object oClicker=GetClickingObject();
    if(!GetIsPC(oClicker))
{
return;
}

at your service,
DZ :twisted:
My attitude toward men who mess around is simple: If you find 'em, kill 'em!

Delisha Zrazorian
Newbie Helper
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:08 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Delisha Zrazorian »

update...

the code below makes the doorway unuseable :?

Code: Select all

void main()
{
    object oPC = GetClickingObject();
     if(!GetIsPC(oPC))
    {

        if(!GetIsPC(GetMaster(oPC)))
        {

            AssignCommand(oPC, ClearAllActions());
        }
    }
as did the first attempt... :shock:

anyway... gonna go search the Vault... bound to be something there I can use...

at your service,
DZ :twisted:
My attitude toward men who mess around is simple: If you find 'em, kill 'em!

mining
Absentee Ballot Dev
Posts: 2411
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:09 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by mining »

That can't be the *only* code you have there :)

Append it to the bioware stuff or add some general handling.
Bargeld wrote:Overall, I think most would agree that a pure rogue is probably the worst build on the server.

Delisha Zrazorian
Newbie Helper
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:08 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Delisha Zrazorian »

That can't be the *only* code you have there :)
ahhhhhhh... now I get it :shock:

my old COBAL brain keeps trying to sabotage my new NWScript brain... :?

thanks...

DZ :twisted:
My attitude toward men who mess around is simple: If you find 'em, kill 'em!

User avatar
Nyeleni
Relic Raider
Posts: 890
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Europe

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Nyeleni »

Unfortunately it's only natural, what isn't natural is the way C++ works. Or whatever they are using as language. (hint) Delphi would be so much more intuitive (hint)
Image
Aiya Mielikki! CELEB ALCONTARI CUYO ANANN!

For the Glory of Torm! Clericus Liberatus Anno Dominis - Gloria Triadis!

mining
Absentee Ballot Dev
Posts: 2411
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:09 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by mining »

Nyeleni wrote:Unfortunately it's only natural, what isn't natural is the way C++ works. Or whatever they are using as language. (hint) Delphi would be so much more intuitive (hint)
Its fairly intuitive - there's not much which I went "wtf that makes no sense" while I was learning it.
Bargeld wrote:Overall, I think most would agree that a pure rogue is probably the worst build on the server.

Delisha Zrazorian
Newbie Helper
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:08 am

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Delisha Zrazorian »

Unfortunately it's only natural,
you are so right... ppl usually view things through their "native" or first learned language I'm sure :D

I miss gosubs :lol: :lol:


hehe
My attitude toward men who mess around is simple: If you find 'em, kill 'em!

Shadowalker
Relic Raider
Posts: 820
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:55 pm

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Shadowalker »

Delisha Zrazorian wrote:
Unfortunately it's only natural,
you are so right... ppl usually view things through their "native" or first learned language I'm sure :D

I miss gosubs :lol: :lol:


hehe

Ohh Lord, next your be lamenting over the infrequent use of the abacus in this new fangeled world.

Love ya :P
Twig (TSS) - Twig [CLAD] - Twigs -Fury- - SyNfully Rotted Twig - Twig'lee -Down Under- - Twig'zilla

Fergus Glonshire [FoN] - Sakij Lovac [FoN] - Zatharus Rivermoon (TSS) - Bumble (TSS) - Body built for SyN

User avatar
Nyeleni
Relic Raider
Posts: 890
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:31 am
Location: Europe

Re: How do I keep monsters in the area they spawn in?

Post by Nyeleni »

HEY! The abacus has been a great innovation, and been used for thousands of years. Don't diss it only because you can't appreciate it's simplicity and impact on the world (although I'm joking with you shadowalker, the above is still true :)).
Image
Aiya Mielikki! CELEB ALCONTARI CUYO ANANN!

For the Glory of Torm! Clericus Liberatus Anno Dominis - Gloria Triadis!

Locked

Return to “NS4 Help and Support”